SUMP Central

Select Language

Diesel ban in Berlin

Berlin has implemented the first of seven planned diesel restrictions, to manage its nitrogen dioxide emissions. The city follows action by other cities in Germany, Hamburg and Darmstadt, which have implemented low emission zones to facilitate compliance with nitrogen dioxide limits. It is likely that additional cities in Germany will implement low emission zones to tackle nitrogen dioxide exceedances.

Since January 2010, Berlin has had a low emission zone in place, which bans Euro 4 (diesel) and Euro 1 (petrol) vehicles from entering the city. Under this low emission zone, vehicle owners must purchase green stickers from government authorities or other authorised bodies, to display compliance with the low emission zone.

The city decided to implement a stricter low emission zone, known as the Diesel Fahrverbot (diesel ban), which allows only diesel vehicles with a Euro 6 standard or above to operate in the city. 

For more information visit the source page here.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *